Melatonin and Meditation

Pineal gland. Images are from Anatomography ma...

Image via Wikipedia

While studying Experimental Psychology at University I was awed by the similarity between the nervous systems of the different species we studied. How was it that such diverse creatures could share the same building blocks? One of the structures I became interested in was the pineal gland. This interested has persisted until today and every now and again I search for interesting articles on the web.

The last time I looked, I came across an article about melatonin and meditation . Melatonin is produced by the pineal gland and has some impressive health benefits. As I’ve been meditating since I was a teenager I couldn’t wait to discover more about the link between the two.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

